CME arrival time 1932 UTC

Via http://www.swpc.noaa.gov/ “The coronal mass ejection (CME), originally expected to arrive around 0800 UTC (3:00 a.m. EST) today, January 9, was observed at the ACE spacecraft just upstream of Earth at 1932 UTC (2:32 p.m. EST). It’s too early to see much with respect to the magnetic structure of this CME, but short-term, high-confidence warnings will be issued as this event plays out. The original forecast continues to be for G3 (Strong) Geomagnetic Storm activity on January 9 and 10. Aurora watchers may be in luck for tonight. The ongoing Solar Radiation Storm, currently at S2 (Moderate) levels, is seeing a modest enhancement with this shock passage but remains below S3 (Strong) threshold at this time. Updates here as this event unfolds.”

As it is now, it is not looking good for auroras in the lower 48. Northern latitudes may see the lights, however, clouds are covering much of Alaska. All we can do it wait and see what happens.

WordPress theme: Kippis 1.15